Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Chair: Floyd Eisenberg

Scribe: Juliet Rubini

Zoom link https://zoom.us/j/7774142910?pwd=OE9BV2N0TnMzbEpqUjFIdW1iMU5sZz09

...

Meeting ID: 817 3824 8324

Minutes from last meeting: 2020-06-19 Meeting Minutes

Attendees

Table Filter
inversefalse,
sparkNameSparkline
limitHeight
separatorPoint (.)
labelsPresent‚
defaultyes,
cell-width150,
userfilterPresent,Attendee
datepatterndd M yy
id1593189554453_-666371880
worklog365|5|8|y w d h m|y w d h m
isORAND
order0,1


YesYesYes
AttendeeAttendee's OrganizationAttendee's emailPresent

Abdul Malik

Hi3 Solutions

abdulmalik.shakir@hi3solutions.com


Abdullah RafiqiESAC

abdullah.rafiqi@esacinc.com

Yes

Alex Liu

EPIC

aliu@epic.com


Andrea Pitkus

-

apitkus@gmail.com


Andrews KanterIMO Healthakanter@imohealth.com

Andrey Soares

U C Denver

andrey.soares@ucdenver.edu


Angela Flanagan

Lantana Consulting Group

angela.flanagan@lantanagroup.com


Angie GlosteinCerner

angie.glostein@cerner.com


Ann Phillips

NCQA

phillps@ncqa.org


Anne Smith

NCQA

smith@ncqa.org


Apurva Dharia

ESAC

apurva.dharia@esacinc.com


Ashish DeshpandeOM1

adeshpande@om1.com


Ben Ghahhari

CMS

benjamin.ghahhari@cms.hhs.gov


Ben Hamlin

NCQA

hamlin@ncqa.org

Yes

Bo Borgnakke

Michigan Shared Services Network

borgnakke@mihin.org


Bob Dieterle

Enable Care, LLC

rdieterle@enablecare.us


Bob DolinElimu

bdolin@elimu.io

Yes

Bob Keyes

Telligen

bkeyes@telligen.com


Brett Marquard

River Rock Associates

brett@riverockassociates.com


Brian Alper

EBSCO

balper@ebsco.com


Bryn Rhodes

ESAC

bryn@databaseconsultinggroup.com

Yes

Casey Thompson


casey@govhealth.com  


Celine LefebvreAMA

celine.lefebvre@ama-assn.org


Chana West

CDQ Solutions

cwest@cdq-solutions.com


Chelsea King ArthurSemantic Bitschelsea.kingarthur@semanticbits.comYes

Chris Moesel

MITRE

cmoesel@mitre.org


Claude Nanjo


cnanjo@gmail.com


Claudia Hall

Mathematica

chall@mathematicampr.org


Courtney Breece

 Inovalon

cbreece@inovalon.com 


Craig Newman

Altartum

craig.newman@altarum.org


Crystal Kallem

CK Consulting

crystal.kallem@ckconsultingllc.com


Cynthia BartonCognitive Medicalcbarton@cognitivemedical.com

Dan Donahue

ESAC

dan.donahue@esacinc.com


Dani CookeOM1

dcooke@om1.com


Daryl Chertcoff 

HLN Consulting

daryl@hln.com


David Sundaram-Stukel

EPIC

dsandara@epic.com


Deb HallMeditechdhall@meditech.com

Dipti Ghandi

The Joint Commission

dghandi@jointcommission.org


Durwin Day

BCBSA

dday@bsbsil


Elise BerlinerAHRQ

elise.berliner@ahrq.hhs.gov


Eric Askegaard

UHG

eric_askegaard@uhg.com


Eric HaasHealth eData

eric@healthedatainc.com

Yes


Eric Sullivan

Inovalon

yesesullivan@inovalon.com


Evelyn Gallego


Fareeda Nazeer

The Joint Commission

fnazeer@jointcommission.org


Floyd Eisenberg

iParsimony, LLC

FEisenberg@iParsimony.com

Yes
Galen HamannVAgalen.hamann@va.gov

Gay Dolin

Namaste Informatics

gdolin@namasteinformatics.com

Yes
Gayathri JayawardenaESACgayathri.jayawardena@esacinc.comYes
Genny LuensmanCDCgluensman@cdc.gov

Glen Raley

Humana

graley@humana.com


Hafsa Subhan

The Joint Commission

hsubhan@jointcommission.org


Heather McComasAMAHeather.McComas@ama-assn.org

Heather Patrick

CDC

htx7@cdc.gov


Holly WongMEDITECHYes

Howard Strasberg

Wolters Kluwer

howard.strasberg@wolterskluwer.com


Humberto Mandirola

Biocom

hmandirola@biocom.com


iIkka Kunnamo

Duodecim

jilkkakunnamo@duodecim.fl


isabel Zaru-Roque

ESAC

isabel.zaru-roque@esacinc.com


James Bradley

Mitre

jhbradley@mitre.org


Jamie Lehner

PCPI

jamie.lehner@thepcpi.org


Jana Malinowski

Cerner

cerjkm@cerner.com


Javier Espina

Philips

javier.espina@philips.com

Yes

Jeff Schmitz

Health eFilings

jschmitz@healthefilings.com


Jeff Smith

UHC

jeffery_s_smith@uhc.com


Jen Seeman

ESAC

jennifer.seeman@esacinc.com

Yes
Jenna Norton


Jenny Brush

ESAC

jennifer.brush@esacinc.com


Jerry Goodnough


Jessica Ordoyne

Dynamic Health

jordoyne@dynamichealthit.com


Jim ShalabyElimu

jshalaby@elimu.io


Jimmy Newton
jimmynewton@gmail.com
Joe BormelCognitive Medicinejbormel@cognitivemedicine.com

Joe Kunisch

Memorial Hermann

kunisch@memorialhermann.org


Joe Quinn

Optum

joseph.quinn@optum.com


John Damore

Diameter Health

jdamore@diameterhealth.com


John Loonsk


john.loonsk@cgifederal.com


Jonathan LaDeauMeditechjladeau@meditech.com

Julia Skapik




Juliet Rubini

Mathematica

jrubini@mathematicampr.com

Yes
K ZapataDiameter Healthkzapata@diameterhealth.com
Katiya Shell


Kathleen Connor

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kathleen_connor@comcast.net


Kathy CarsonSemanticBitskathy.carson@semanticbits.com

Ken Hall

Veradigm Health

kenneth.hall@veradigmhealth.com


Kurt Allen

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kurta@gjoll.com


Latasha EstradaSemanticBitslatasha.estrada@semanticbits.com

Laura

CDC

lconn@cdc.gov


Lenel James

BCBSA

lenel.james@bcbsa.org


Leslie SmartHumana

lsmart3@humana.com


Linda Michaelsen

Optum

linda.michaelsen@optum.com


Lisa Anderson

NCQA

landerson@ncqa.org


Lisa Nelson

Life Over Time Solutions, LLC

LisaRNelson@cox.net


Liz Hartley-Sommers

BCBSA

elizabeth.hartley@bcbsla.com


Lorraine Constable

HL7 Canada

lorraine@constable.ca


Luke Osborne

MITRE

lwosborne@mitre.org


Lyn LibertyMeditechlliberty@meditech.com

Lynn Perrine

Lantana

lynn.perrine@lantanagroup.org


Marc Hallez

The Joint Commission

mhallez@jointcommission.org

Yes

Mark Taylor


mark.taylor@readycomputing.com


Matt Elrod Max MD

elrod@max.md


Matt Hardman

Cerner

matt.hardman@cerner.com


Matthew Dugal

Dynamic Health

mdugal@dynamichealthit.com


Matthew Tiller

ESAC

matthew.tiller@esacinc.com

Yes

May Terry

Mitre

mayt@mitre.org


Mia Nievera

The Joint Commission

mnievera@jointcommission.org

Yes

Michael O'Keefe

MITRE

mokeefe@mitre.org


Michelle BarryAvailitycara.barry@availity.comYes
Michelle LeavyOM1

mleavy@om1.com


Michelle MillerCerner

michelle.m.miller@cerner.com


Michelle Mish Turner

UHC

michelle-p-turner@uhc.org


Mike Ballie

UHC

michael.ballie@uhc.com


Mike Hunt

Experian

mike.hunt@experian.com


Mitra Biglari

The Joint Commission

mbiglari@jointcommission.org


Molly MalaveyYes


Nancy Whipple

GE

nancy.whipple@ge.com


Nathan Bunker


nbunker@immregistries.org


Nick Radov

UHC

nradov@uhc.org


Pamela Mahan-Rudolph

Memorial

pamela.mahanrudolph@memorialhermann.org 


Patty Craig

The Joint Commission

pcraig@jointcommission.org

Yes

Paul Denning

MITRE

pauld@mitre.org

Yes
Peter EmmanuelElimu

pemmanuel@elimu.io


Peter Muir


peter@pjmConsultingLlc.com

Yes

Ping Jiang

The Joint Commission

pjiang@jointcommission.org

Yes
Piper RanalloAAN pranallo@aan.com Yes

Rathore Garima


rathore.garima1@gmail.com


Rebeccah Baer

NCQA

baer@ncqa.org


Rhonda Schwartz

ESAC Inc

rhonda.schwartz@esacinc.com


Ricardo Quintano

Philips

ricardo.quintano@philips.com


Rich Boyce


codehop.dev@gmail.com


Rinku MasterNCQA

master@ncqa.org


Rob McClure

MD Partners Inc

rmcclure@mdpartners.com

Yes

Robert Samples

ESAC Inc

robert.samples@esacinc.com

Yes
Ron Chee


Rukma Joshi

ESAC Inc

rukma.joshi@esacinc.com


Ryan Clark

NCQA

ryan@ncqa.org


Ryan Weber


ryan.weber@uhc.com


Sam Sayer

MITRE

ssayer@mitre.org


Scott FradkinFlexionsfradkin@flexion.usYes
Serhii IlinSemanticBitsserhii.ilin@semanticbits.com

Serafina Versaggi

JP Systems

serafina.versaggi@jpsystems.com


Shannon Cerf


Sharon Peters


srividyakonda


Stan Rankins

Telligen

SRankins@telligen.com

Yes

Steve Hufnagel


steve.hufnagel.hl7@gmail.com


Sue Kent

CCF

kents@ccf.org


Sweta Ladwa

ESAC inc

sweta.ladwa@esacinc.com


Tammy KuschelAcustafT.kuschel@acustaf.com
Tanvi Shah


Theresa Bessette
trebe2059@gmail.com

Thomas Reese

U of Utah

thomas.reese@hsc.utah.edu


Thomson Kuhn

ACP

tkuhn@acponline.org

Yes
Tom StrassnerMITRE

tsrassner@mitre.org


Traci Psihas

ESAC Inc 

traci.psihas@esacinc.com


Viet Nguyen

Strata Metrics

vietnguyen@stratametrics.com

Yes
VishnuYarmaneni

Walter Suarez

Kaiser Permanente

walter.g.suarez@kp.org


Wendy Talbot

NCQA

talbot@ncqa.org


Yan Heras

Optimum eHealth

yanheras@gmail.com

Yes

Yanyan Hu

The Joint Commission

yhu@jointcommission.org

Yes

Zabrina Gonzaga 

Lantana Consulting 

zabriana.gonzaga@lantanagroup.com



Minutes


Agenda Outline

Agenda Item

Minutes
1Announcements Floyd reviewed the announcements
  • Cooking with CQL: or How to Express eCQMs using CQL, QDM and FHIR® Webinar

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) invites you to the “Cooking with Clinical Quality Language (CQL): or How to express Electronic Clinical Quality Measures eCQMs using Clinical Quality Language (CQL), Quality Data Model (QDM) and Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) webinar.

The Cooking with CQL series provides an interactive environment for measure developers. The upcoming sessions will feature open discussion from subject matter experts on CQL and FHIR and will show examples on how to express eCQMs using CQL and FHIR as well as how QDM concepts can be represented using FHIR resources and take questions from the audience.

Register for the webinar taking place on Thursday, July 30, 2020 at 4:00 PM ET:
https://battelle.webex.com/battelle/onstage/g.php?MTID=ef8f5f1a09157ad96a08747e04966173f

Preview the examples that we will review at our upcoming session on the CQL Formatting and Usage Wiki: https://github.com/cqframework/CQL-Formatting-and-Usage-Wiki/wiki/Cooking-with-CQL-Examples. Please submit CQL-related questions and suggested examples to cql-esac@esacinc.com. If you have any other questions or need additional information about this webinar, please contact Amira Elhagmusa at elhagmusa@battelle.org or 614-424-4855.


2COVID-19 FHIR IG PSS Update - Seeking vote on potential CQI co-sponsorship (Susan Matney)COVID-19 Case Reporting FHIR IG PSS and obtain O&O approval (https://confluence.hl7.org/display/CR/COVID+19+FHIR+IG). The FHIR IG can be found here (https://covid-19-ig.logicahealth.org/toc.html).

Susan reviewed the content of this COVID19 project proposal.  Set of profiles around case reporting.  Asking whether CQI wants to be an interested party of co-sponsor.  Discussion ensued around whether this project is relevant to CQI work directly - like QI Core.

Motion for CQI to be a co-sponsor with periodic updates: Gay Dolin/ Viet Nguyen; amendment from Gay to also include updates as content is relevant to CQI and measures; Viet agreed 25-0-0

3Clinical Steering Division/ Technical Steering Committee

Each Work Group within the four steering divisions (Clinical, Administrative, Infrastructure, Organizational Support) shall return a single submission that identifies the candidate it wishes to elect to represent their Steering Division on the Technical Steering Committee.

Candidate profiles:

Bryn Rhodes: http://www.hl7.org/documentcenter/private/membership/elections/2020_TSC_Profile_Bryn_Rhodes.pdf

Melva Peters: http://www.hl7.org/documentcenter/private/membership/elections/2020_TSC_Profile_Melva_Peters.pdf

Scott Robertson: http://www.hl7.org/documentcenter/private/membership/elections/2020_TSC_Profile_Scott_Robertson_PharmD.pdf

eVote link (via survey monkey):  https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/WP7L7R2

Survey is open until Sunday, July 19, 2020 at 5:00 PM ET - one vote per CQI WG member.

Floyd provided an overview of the Clinical Steering Division and Technical Steering Committee roles and why we are having a survey monkey vote.  Floyd encouraged all CQI members to vote by July 19th.
4

FHIR Quality Measure IG

Publication request was approved on 5/29/2020

Status update on technical issues for publication


Bryn provided an updated on the status.  Technical QA issues are being resolved.
5

DEQM IG

http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/branches/master/

Status update on technical issues for publication

Yan provided an update on behalf of Eric.  Working through technical QA issues and US Core publication.  


Issues: https://chat.fhir.org/#narrow/stream/179252-IG-creation/topic/Summary.20of.20remaining.20open.20DEQM.20QA.20issues

6

DEQM IG - Gaps in Care 

DEQM IG - Gaps in Care http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/branches/gic-branch/

September ballot

Yan provided an update on September ballot dates for this content.  Next deadline is July 28 to complete IG and deliver to sponsoring workgroup (CQI).  Yan walked through the latest Gaps in Care build changes found here:  http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/branches/gic-branch/
7Outcome Criteria Framework - FHIR IG (Gay Dolin) - To consider vote for approvalBob provided an overview of the IG proposal and PSS.  gay moved that we approve the FHIR IG proposal form; Stan Rankins seconded; motion carries with vote 23-0-0.
8CQL-based HQMF

CQL-based HQMF Release 1, STU 3 - US Realm (used for measures for reporting/performance year 2020 - QDM 5.4) Expires August 3, 2020 - Publication/Extension Request: CQL-Based HQMF Implementation Guide Publication Request

CQL-based HQMF Release 1, STU 4 - US Realm (used for measures for reporting/performance years 2021 and 2022 - QDM 5.5) Expires July 3, 2021 - May need extension request by July 2021

Floyd reviewed the need for an extension request on CQL based HQMF R1 STU3.  Motion to approve the extension request; Peter Muir; Bryn Rhodes second; Zahid asked for discussion around what happens to a standard when it expires, Floyd demonstrated; motion carries 23-0-0
9Quality Measure Reporting Informative White Paper Ballot

Individual items for consideration:

Block vote #2

moved to approve the block vote of 15 items; Rob Samples/ Juliet Rubini, motion carries 23-0-0


 FHIR-27379 Rob Samples moved to approve as disposed, Javier Espina seconded; motion carries 23-0-0

FHIR-27403 Rob Samples moved to approve as disposed, Ivan Zapreev seconded; motion carries 23-0-0

FHIR-27402 Rob Samples moved to approve as disposed, Ivan Zapreev seconded; motion carries 21-0-0

FHIR-27366 Rob Samples moved to approve as disposed, Javier Espina seconded; motion carries 20-0-0

FHIR-27420 tracker was discussed regarding structure of document and how the summary and subsequent sections seem to be all one section;  a proposed resolution was developed; Rob Samples moved to approve as disposed, Javier Espina seconded; motion carries 19-0-0


10

Clinical Reasoning FHIR Resources (owned by CQI)

  • Measure
  • MeasureReport 

Specific recommendations from FHIR Connectathon24

Individual issues - Deferred to future call

  • Measure Resource
  • MeasureReport Resource

11QRDA

Publication announcement and schematron release


12CQL

Normative ballot closed May 11th: https://cql.hl7.org/2020May/index.html

Ballot statistics: CQL Ballot Reconciliation

Ballot reconciliation topics. Jira issues

Status check


13

QI-Core / QUICK Update


14Project Updates

Review of current projects - found on home page here.

Reminder:

  1. CQI FHIR Quality Measure Project Subgroup calls:
    1. Call Information: 
  2. Combined Gaps in Care DaVinci and DEQM calls: 
  3. Cross Workgroups Project WG (now managing US Core balloting) - Considering new PSS for metadata for Apps: Marketplace Product Packaging and Metadata


15Balloting timeline

Balloting schedule (confirm on HL7 Calendars):

Approvals for September 2020 and January 2021 Ballot Cycles:

PSS Deadline Dates for Future Ballots
September 2020 Ballot Cycle
April 19, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
July 5, 2020
NIB Deadline
July 13 - August 13, 2020
Ballot sign-up period
July 28 - August 6, 2020
FHIR ballot content QA 
August 7 - August 11, 2020
FHIR ballot content QA change application
August 9, 2020
Final content due for September ballot
August 14 - September 14, 2020
Ballot comment period

January 2021 Ballot Cycle


June 5, 2020
Submit Work Group Approved PSS to the PMO
August 23, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
November 1, 2020
NIB Deadline
May 2021 Ballot Cycle
October 9, 2020
Submit Work Group Approved PSS to the PMO
December 18, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
TBD
NIB Deadline...................................