Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

view HL7 India Youtube Channel



Justification and Objectives


The FHIR specification includes support for the provision of a terminology service - that is, a service that lets healthcare applications make use of codes and value sets without having to become experts in the fine details of the value sets and underlying code systems and their related resources. The incorporating and proper use of terminology is fundamental to effective, interoperable data exchange, especially semantic interoperability, so this is an important capability to provide and test in the Connectathons.  We expect and hope to achieve:

  1. Explain the workflow of Clinical Information Modelling and subsequent tagging of FHIR resources with the relevant standard codes and value set . This is the key learning with hands-on practice we hope to achieve in this track - the whole cycle starting from Clinical Information Modeling through to Resource Modelling through to FHIR artifacts.
  2. Explain the importance of syntactic and semantic interoperability, especially for clinical data
  3. Extensive terminology service testing,
  4. Implementation and implementer experience with aspects of the terminology services specifications,
  5. Identify potential of implementing FHIR terminology service specifications in India based on implementation and testing experience, and
  6. Increase awareness and utilization of terminology services by other Connectathon tracks.
 
Refer :David Hay's blog post on Terminology Services
This track will use the R4 version of FHIR.


Clinical input requested (if any)


We do have leadership and regular participants in the track who have backgrounds with significant clinical experience. Additionally, we will be having the national expert on SNOMED CT. Dr Suman Bhattacharyya as one of the track leads


Related tracks


Every Connectathon track (or nearly so) needs terminology services!  We intend to focus much of our effort for this Connectathon on providing support for SNOMED CT (the most complex general clinical terminology) and LOINC for the other Connectathon tracks (see Scenario 2 description below).

Track Leads and Co-ordinators

  1. Dr Pramod D. Jacob- pramodjacob@hotmail.com
  2. Dr Suman Bhattarcharyya- sbbhattacharyya@gmail.com
  3. Bhimesh Deshpande - Bhimesh.deshpande@philips.com
  4. Satyam Kumar - Satyam.Kumar@philips.com


Guest international expert: Robert Hausam


Participants Registered on the Terminology Services Track

Sr No

Participant Name

Participant Email ID

1

Sailaja Bharatala

sailaja@prakhyasolutions.com

2

DR UMA NAMBIAR

dr.umanambiar@gmail.com

3

Pardha Saradhi Devineni

Pardhasaradhi.Devineni@valuemomentum.com

4

BHAGVAN KOMMADI

BHAGVAN.KOMMADI@VALUEMOMENTUM.COM

5

BHASKAR AINALA

bhaskar.ainala@valuemomentum.com

6

Dr. SB Bhattacharyya

sbbhattacharyya@yahoo.com

7

Pramod David Jacob

pramodjacob@hotmail.com

8

Dr S N SARBADHIKARI

supten@gmail.com

9

Bhimesh Deshpande

bhimesh.deshpande@philips.com

10

Sahil Khanna

sahil.khanna@philips.com

11

Aravind Raghunath

aravind.raghunath@philips.com

12

Shweta Rajput

shwetarajput@cdac.in

13

Toshan Mishra

toshan.mishra@philips.com

14

Latha Basappa

latha.basappa@siemens-healthineers.com

15

Ankita Srivastava

ankisri17@gmail.com

16

Gokul TK 

gokul.tk@isteer.com

17

Vipin Shreyas Kumar

vipin.S.kumar@ge.com

18

Sanghai, Amit

Amit.Sanghai@ge.com

19

Sathish Tiptur

Sathish.Tiptur@geind.ge.com

20

Hardikkumar Soni

Hardikkumar.soni@ge.com

21

Ranjith Ramachanran

Ranjithchandran.ramachandran@ge.com

22

Salil Sanghvi

Salil.sanghvi@ge.com

23

Dhaval Manvar

Dhaval.manvar@ge.com

24

Pankaj Kumar

Pankaj.kumar12@ge.com

25

Kriti Tandon

Kriti.tandon@ge.com

26

Amaresh Rao Malempati

m.amareshrao@gmail.com

27

Sanjay

sanjay.kumar1@siemens-healthineers.com

28

Ramkumar Krishnan

ramkumar.k@siemens-healthineers.com

29

Vivek AS

vivek.as@siemens-healthineers.com

30

Verghese Thomas

vergheseathomas@gmail.com

31

LalitSingh

drlalitsingh@gmail.com

32

Shinto Jose

Shinto.Jose@siemens-healthineers.com

33

Ayush Prasad

ayush.prasad@siemens-healthineers.com

34

Vishnu Raveendran

vishnu.raveendran@siemens-healthineers.com

35

Werner De Mulder

werner.de.mulder@philips.com

36

Nisarg Khandekar

knisarg@athenahealth.com

37

Deepashikha Acharya

Deepshikha.Acharya@philips.com

Track Orientation and Administration


Date: 24 June 2020 (Complete)

Time: 12:30 PM to 1:30 PM

Topic: Track Overview 

GooMeeting:  https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/682567149


Communication Channel:

      1. SLACK: for all the formal communication , work progress, document/artifacts sharing , Q&A please use SLACK channel, as recommended by HL7 India

       Here is the invite:

       Hello !!Thank You for registering for the HL7 India Connectathon 2020 !!To follow the Pre-Connectathon and Connectathon Related conversations, please join the HL7 India Slack Workspace using the link below:

       https://join.slack.com/t/hl7india/shared_invite/zt-f6bvdx6s-iPXeJgygtv84OzKGDHn~jw

      2. WhatsApp: For all the immediate communications and updates we will use WhatsApp (not at all a primary communication channel)

       Request to all the participants their contact numbers, I shall add it to “Terminology Track” active WhatsApp group

      3.Confluence Page: All the Track related formal announcements are available on Confluence page

      https://confluence.hl7.org/display/HIN/Terminology+Track

      4. Gyanet.in/GoToMeeting: All the meetings for the Track Proceedings are via GoToMeeting

       https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/682567149


Next Important Session:

June 26, 2020 (Friday)

Time: 12:30 pm to 1:30 pm

Topic: Use case sharing by Clinicians and Clinical Information Model definition

GoToMeeting:  https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/682567149


Pre-Connectathon upcoming Daily Stand ups:

Upcoming Daily Stand up:

  1. 30 Jun 2020-  Infrastructure Discussion and stock taking from Team (GoToMeeting:  https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/682567149)
  2. 1 July 2020-   FHIR Website Exploration/Terminology Server and stock taking from Team
  3. 2 July 2020-   Dry run and stock taking from Team

Tentative Track Schedule (stay tuned for the updates here)

Date-TimeActivityDurationComments

3rd July 2020 

4:30 PM - 6:00 PM




6:00 PM to 7:00 PM

The process and workflow from Clinical Information Modelling to Resource Modelling and FHIR artifacts

Explanation of standards - SNOMED and LOINC and Purpose and use of the corresponding NamingSystem

Context Set up for Saturday

Demonstration of Clinical Information Modeling Tool to Participants


Common Event

2.5 hrs

4th July 2020

9:00 AM-10:00 AM

Common event1 hr

4th July 2020

10:00 AM - 12: 00 PM

Use case 1 (Clinician+Medical Informatics+FHIR Developers)2 hr
12:00 PM - 12:30 PMCommon Update to the FHIR Connectathon Commitee30 mins
1:30 PM -3:00 PMUse case 2 (Clinician+Medical Informatics+FHIR Developers)1 hrs 30 mins

3:00 PM -5:30 PM



5:30 PM to 6 PM

Formal Testing with Terminology Server
1. Operations with Terminology Server
2. FHIR Resource Creation using Terminology
3. Hands on Session with Terminology Server 

Report Out

3 hr 

5th July 2020

9;00 AM - 10:30 AM 

Use case 3 (Clinician+Medical Informatics+FHIR Developers)1 hr 30 mins
11:00 AM Common event . Track report out.


Tools

  1. FHIR Transformation and Terminology Binding: Philips IntelliBridge Enterprise (Endpointhttps://rhapsody-3xlab1.ibe.philips-healthsuite.com:7969/philips/terminology/CCD )
  2. Vonk by Firely : https://fire.ly/products/vonk/vonk-fhir-server/
  3. HAPI FHIR reference Server: https://hapifhir.io/
  4. Terminology Server : Snowstorm (https://github.com/IHTSDO/snowstorm)and (CareCom) HealthTerm 
  5. Postman Collection : https://www.postman.com/collection/
  6. ClinFHIR

Scenarios- Limiting the scenarios to only those mentioned below

1 - Introduction to Terminology

This will remain a primary purpose of this track along with the process and workflow from Clinical Information Modelling to Resource Modelling to FHIR artifacts cycle and provides a 'friendly introduction' for those new to Terminology Track in FHIR. Attendees participate in this track using a simple scenario that can be met with limited domain knowledge.
Pre-connectathon testing is encouraged, but not required, where the participants can utilize the publicly available FHIR Terminology Servers listed above.
Testing and test reporting at the Connectathon event will be self-attested and primarily involves peer-to-peer execution between known FHIR clients and/or servers.

2 - Federated Terminology Servers

We need to obtain Connectathon and implementation experience in this important area.  In order to practically implement full terminology service capabilities and utilization, a single terminology server may not be capable of handling all needed requests, but it is clearly desirable for clients to be able to point to a single terminology services endpoint for application needs.  Some initial work has been done in implementing federated networks composed of multiple FHIR terminology servers for responding to terminology service queries, and this needs to be tested and expanded in the Connectathon.  


view HL7 India Youtube Channel

  • No labels