Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Short Description

Progress validation of v2-to-FHIR mappings and mapping tools

Long Description

Progress validation of v2-to-FHIR mappings and mapping tools to prepare for a mid-2021 Publication, as well as review use cases using transformation.

Agenda

  • Wednesday
    • Overall Kickoff: 16:00-17:00PT/18:00-19:00CT/19:00-20:00ET/00:00-01:00GMT/01:00-02:00CET/11:00-12:00AEST
    • Team: 17:00-18:00PT/19:00-20:00CT/20:00-21:00ET/01:00-02:00GMT/02:00-03:00CET/07:30-08:30IST/12:00-13:00AEST
  • Thursday
    • Team: 07:00-08:00PT/09:00-10:00CT/10:00-11:00ET/15:00-16:00GMT/16:00-17:00CET/19:30-20:30IST/02:00-03:00AEST
    • Team: 10:30-11:30PT/12:30-13:30CT/13:30-14:30ET/18:30-19:30GMT/19:30-20:30CET/23:00-00:00IST/05:30-06:30AEST
      • SIU Walkthrough
    • Team: 14:00-15:00PT/16:00-17:00CT/17:00-18:00ET/22:00-23:00GMT/23:00-00:00CET/04:30-05:30IST/08:00-09:0AEST
      • ORU Walkthrough
    • Team: 17:00-18:00PT/19:00-18:00CT/20:00-21:00ET/23:00-24:00BST/02:00-03:00CET/10:00-11:00AEST
  • Friday
    • Team: 07:00-08:00PT/09:00-10:00CT/10:00-11:00ET/15:00-16:00GMT/16:00-17:00CET/19:30-20:30IST/02:00-03:00AEST
      • SIU Walktrhough
    • Team: 14:00-15:00PT/16:00-17:00CT/17:00-18:00ET/22:00-23:00GMT/23:00-00:00CET/04:30-05:30IST/08:00-09:0AEST
    • Connectathon Highlights: 15:00-15:15 PT
    • Overall Closing: 16:00-17:00PT/18:00-19:00CT/19:00-20:00ET/00:00-01:00GMT/01:00-02:00CET/11:00-12:00AEST

Type

Validation v2-to-FHIR mappings and mapping tools

Submitting Work Group/Project/Accelerator/Affiliate/Implementer Group  

Orders & Observations - v2-to-FHIR Project Team

Proposed Track Lead

Hans Buitendijk - hans.buitendijk@cerner.com

Craig Newman - craig.newman@altarum.com

Related Tracks

FHIR Version

R4

Specification(s) this track uses

https://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/v2-to-fhir/branches/master/index.html

Artifacts of focus

Clinical input requested (if any)

Patient input requested (if any)

Expected participants

Zulip stream

https://chat.fhir.org/#narrow/stream/179188-v2-to.20FHIR


Track Orientation Date

December 15, 2020

Track Orientation Details

Track Details

System Roles

  • Editor - HL7 volunteers/support staff to maintain the mappings
  • Publisher - v2+, FHIR, and other venues to publish the content
  • Integration Engines - consuming mappings to pre-populate their tools
  • Tooling developers writing software to automate the mapping process.

Scenarios

Primary scenario is to provide end-to-end mapping of an ADT^A01, ORM_O01, OML_O21, ORU_R01, and VXU_V04 messages according to the latest definitions here.

ADD Servers available

TestScript(s)

Sample v2 messages/segments/fields to use:

Steps:

  • Input v2 test message into mapper
    • Qualifications:
      • Test message with all FHIR mandatory attributes valued,
      • Test messages with v2 optional fields not valued where FHIR needs them
      • Test messages with v2 fields with cardinality greater than FHIR
      • Test messages with v2 fully loaded
      • Test messages with real-world content
  • Perform the mapping
  • Generate a FHIR Bundle for a FHIR message
  • Analyze the mapping errors  and FHIR message output.
    • Validator/Quality review
  • Validate the FHIR message per FHIR
    • E.g., on Logica
  • Sharing output
    • Review output from various mapping tools for understanding and validation.

Any FHIR Bundles that are considered sufficiently complete and clean per the mapping guidance will become part of the example library putting v2 and FHIR messages next to each other.

Consider that proposed extensions are not yet available (not a roadblock).