Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Chair:  Paul Denning

Scribe: Patricia Craig

Call Details:

Zoom linkhttps://zoom.us/j/7774142910?pwd=OE9BV2N0TnMzbEpqUjFIdW1iMU5sZz09

Phone Number: +1 646-558-8656
Participant Passcode: 777 414 2910

Attendees

Oops, it seems that you need to place a table or a macro generating a table within the Table Filter macro.

The table is being loaded. Please wait for a bit ...

AttendeeAttendee's OrganizationAttendee's emailPresent

Abdul Malik

Hi3 Solutions

abdulmalik.shakir@hi3solutions.com


Abdullah RafiqiESAC

abdullah.rafiqi@esacinc.com

yes

Alex Liu

EPIC

aliu@epic.com


Andrea Pitkus

-

apitkus@gmail.com


Andrews KanterIMO Healthakanter@imohealth.com

Andrey Soares

U C Denver

andrey.soares@ucdenver.edu


Angela Flanagan

Lantana Consulting Group

angela.flanagan@lantanagroup.com

yes
Angie GlosteinCerner

angie.glostein@cerner.com


Ann Phillips

NCQA

phillps@ncqa.org


Anne Smith

NCQA

smith@ncqa.org


Apurva Dharia

ESAC

apurva.dharia@esacinc.com


Ashish DeshpandeOM1

adeshpande@om1.com


Ben Ghahhari

CMS

benjamin.ghahhari@cms.hhs.gov


Ben Hamlin

NCQA

hamlin@ncqa.org

yes

Bo Borgnakke

Michigan Shared Services Network

borgnakke@mihin.org


Bob Dieterle

Enable Care, LLC

rdieterle@enablecare.us


Bob DolinElimu

bdolin@elimu.io

yes

Bob Keyes

Telligen

bkeyes@telligen.com


Brett Marquard

River Rock Associates

brett@riverockassociates.com


Brian Alper

EBSCO

balper@ebsco.com


Bryn Rhodes

ESAC

bryn@databaseconsultinggroup.com

yes

Casey Thompson


casey@govhealth.com  


Celine LefebvreAMA

celine.lefebvre@ama-assn.org


Chana West

CDQ Solutions

cwest@cdq-solutions.com


Chelsea King ArthurSemantic Bitschelsea.kingarthur@semanticbits.comyes

Chris Moesel

MITRE

cmoesel@mitre.org


Claude Nanjo


cnanjo@gmail.com


Claudia Hall

Mathematica

chall@mathematicampr.org

yes

Courtney Breece

 Inovalon

cbreece@inovalon.com 


Craig Newman

Altartum

craig.newman@altarum.org


Crystal Kallem

CK Consulting

crystal.kallem@ckconsultingllc.com


Cynthia BartonCognitive Medicalcbarton@cognitivemedical.comyes

Dan Donahue

ESAC

dan.donahue@esacinc.com


Dani CookeOM1

dcooke@om1.com


Daryl Chertcoff 

HLN Consulting

daryl@hln.com


David Sundaram-Stukel

EPIC

dsandara@epic.com

yes
Deb HallMeditechdhall@meditech.com

Dipti Ghandi

The Joint Commission

dghandi@jointcommission.org

yes

Durwin Day

BCBSA

dday@bsbsil


Elise BerlinerAHRQ

elise.berliner@ahrq.hhs.gov


Eric Askegaard

UHG

eric_askegaard@uhg.com


Eric HaasHealth eData

eric@healthedatainc.com

yes

Eric Sullivan

Inovalon

yesesullivan@inovalon.com


Fareeda Nazeer

The Joint Commission

fnazeer@jointcommission.org

yes

Floyd Eisenberg

iParsimony, LLC

FEisenberg@iParsimony.com

yes
Galen HamannVAgalen.hamann@va.gov

Gay Dolin

Namaste Informatics

gdolin@namasteinformatics.com

yes
Gayathri JayawardenaESACgayathri.jayawardena@esacinc.comyes
Genny LuensmanCDCgluensman@cdc.gov

Glen Raley

Humana

graley@humana.com


Hafsa Subhan

The Joint Commission

hsubhan@jointcommission.org


Heather McComasAMAHeather.McComas@ama-assn.org

Heather Patrick

CDC

htx7@cdc.gov


Holly WongMEDITECH
yes

Howard Strasberg

Wolters Kluwer

howard.strasberg@wolterskluwer.com


Humberto Mandirola

Biocom

hmandirola@biocom.com


iIkka Kunnamo

Duodecim

jilkkakunnamo@duodecim.fl


isabel Zaru-Roque

ESAC

isabel.zaru-roque@esacinc.com


James Bradley

Mitre

jhbradley@mitre.org


Jamie Lehner

PCPI

jamie.lehner@thepcpi.org


Jana Malinowski

Cerner

cerjkm@cerner.com


Javier Espina

Philips

javier.espina@philips.com


Jeff Schmitz

Health eFilings

jschmitz@healthefilings.com


Jeff Smith

UHC

jeffery_s_smith@uhc.com


Jen Seeman

ESAC

jennifer.seeman@esacinc.com

yes

Jenny Brush

ESAC

jennifer.brush@esacinc.com


Jerry Goodnough


Jessica Ordoyne

Dynamic Health

jordoyne@dynamichealthit.com


Jim ShalabyElimu

jshalaby@elimu.io


Jimmy Newton
jimmynewton@gmail.com
Joe BormelCognitive Medicinejbormel@cognitivemedicine.com

Joe Kunisch

Memorial Hermann

kunisch@memorialhermann.org


Joe Quinn

Optum

joseph.quinn@optum.com


John Damore

Diameter Health

jdamore@diameterhealth.com


John Loonsk


john.loonsk@cgifederal.com


Jonathan LaDeauMeditechjladeau@meditech.com

Julia Skapik




Juliet Rubini

Mathematica

jrubini@mathematicampr.com


K ZapataDiameter Healthkzapata@diameterhealth.com

Kathleen Connor

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kathleen_connor@comcast.net


Kathy CarsonSemanticBitskathy.carson@semanticbits.com

Ken Hall

Veradigm Health

kenneth.hall@veradigmhealth.com


Kurt Allen

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kurta@gjoll.com


Latasha EstradaSemanticBitslatasha.estrada@semanticbits.com

Laura

CDC

lconn@cdc.gov


Lenel James

BCBSA

lenel.james@bcbsa.org


Leslie SmartHumana

lsmart3@humana.com


Linda Michaelsen

Optum

linda.michaelsen@optum.com

yes

Lisa Anderson

NCQA

landerson@ncqa.org

yes

Lisa Nelson

Life Over Time Solutions, LLC

LisaRNelson@cox.net


Liz Hartley-Sommers

BCBSA

elizabeth.hartley@bcbsla.com


Lorraine Constable

HL7 Canada

lorraine@constable.ca


Luke Osborne

MITRE

lwosborne@mitre.org


Lyn LibertyMeditechlliberty@meditech.comyes

Lynn Perrine

Lantana

lynn.perrine@lantanagroup.org

yes

Marc Hallez

The Joint Commission

mhallez@jointcommission.org

yes

Mark Taylor


mark.taylor@readycomputing.com


Matt Elrod Max MD

elrod@max.md


Matt Hardman

Cerner

matt.hardman@cerner.com


Matthew Dugal

Dynamic Health

mdugal@dynamichealthit.com


Matthew Tiller

ESAC

matthew.tiller@esacinc.com

yes

May Terry

Mitre

mayt@mitre.org


Mia Nievera

The Joint Commission

mnievera@jointcommission.org

yes

Michael O'Keefe

MITRE

mokeefe@mitre.org


Michelle LeavyOM1

mleavy@om1.com


Michelle MillerCerner

michelle.m.miller@cerner.com


Michelle Mish Turner

UHC

michelle-p-turner@uhc.org


Mike Ballie

UHC

michael.ballie@uhc.com


Mike Hunt

Experian

mike.hunt@experian.com


Mitra Biglari

The Joint Commission

mbiglari@jointcommission.org


Nancy Whipple

GE

nancy.whipple@ge.com


Nathan Bunker


nbunker@immregistries.org


Nick Radov

UHC

nradov@uhc.org


Pamela Mahan-Rudolph

Memorial

pamela.mahanrudolph@memorialhermann.org 


Patty Craig

The Joint Commission

pcraig@jointcommission.org

yes

Paul Denning

MITRE

pauld@mitre.org

yes
Peter EmmanuelElimu

pemmanuel@elimu.io


Peter Muir


peter@pjmConsultingLlc.com

yes

Ping Jiang

The Joint Commission

pjiang@jointcommission.org

yes
Piper RanalloAAN pranallo@aan.com 

Rathore Garima


rathore.garima1@gmail.com


Rebeccah Baer

NCQA

baer@ncqa.org


Rhonda Schwartz

ESAC Inc

rhonda.schwartz@esacinc.com

yes

Ricardo Quintano

Philips

ricardo.quintano@philips.com


Rich Boyce


codehop.dev@gmail.com


Rinku MasterNCQA

master@ncqa.org


Rob McClure

MD Partners Inc

rmcclure@mdpartners.com


Robert Samples

ESAC Inc

robert.samples@esacinc.com


Ron Chee


Rukma Joshi

ESAC Inc

rukma.joshi@esacinc.com


Ryan Clark

NCQA

ryan@ncqa.org


Ryan Weber


ryan.weber@uhc.com


Sam Sayer

MITRE

ssayer@mitre.org


Scott FradkinFlexionsfradkin@flexion.usyes
Serhii IlinSemanticBitsserhii.ilin@semanticbits.com

Serafina Versaggi

JP Systems

serafina.versaggi@jpsystems.com


Shannon Cerf


Sharon Peters


Stan Rankins

Telligen

SRankins@telligen.com

yes

Steve Hufnagel


steve.hufnagel.hl7@gmail.com


Sue Kent

CCF

kents@ccf.org


Sweta Ladwa

ESAC inc

sweta.ladwa@esacinc.com


Tammy KuschelAcustafT.kuschel@acustaf.com

Thomas Reese

U of Utah

thomas.reese@hsc.utah.edu


Thomson Kuhn

ACP

tkuhn@acponline.org

yes
Tom StrassnerMITRE

tsrassner@mitre.org


Traci Psihas

ESAC Inc 

traci.psihas@esacinc.com


Viet Nguyen

Strata Metrics

vietnguyen@stratametrics.com

yes

Walter Suarez

Kaiser Permanente

walter.g.suarez@kp.org


Wendy Talbot

NCQA

talbot@ncqa.org


Yan Heras

Optimum eHealth

yanheras@gmail.com

yes

Yanyan Hu

The Joint Commission

yhu@jointcommission.org


Zabrina Gonzaga 

Lantana Consulting 

zabriana.gonzaga@lantanagroup.com


Meeting Minutes


Agenda Outline

Agenda Item

Meeting Minutes
1Announcements 
  • Virtual Connect-a-thon dates: Wednesday May 13, Thursday May 14, and Friday May 15
  • CQI has now switched to Zoom for weekly meetings - see call information above for all CQI calls. 
  • Enter Ballot Comments by May 11th
    • HL7 Cross-Paradigm Specification: Clinical Quality Language, Release 1 (Jira Specification = "Clinical Quality Language")
    • HL7 FHIR Guidance: Quality Reporting, Release 1 - US Realm (Jira Specification = "US FHIR Guidance - Quality Reporting")
      Ballot comments for both CQL and FHIR Guidance are to be submitted using HL7 JIRA.  Voters must still upload the Spreadsheet for each ballot.  The spreadsheet must either contain the JIRA Tracker #s or all of the information.  Each comment in the spreadsheet must also contain the Vote.
  • Co-chair nominations open through June 15
  • CMS Annual Update was published 7 May
    • 57 eCQMs: 9 EH-CAH, 1 EH-CAH-Hybrid, 47 EP-EC
  • No additions to the agenda.  No changes to the agenda order.


  • The items in the agenda were briefly discussed.


  • Fri May 15 potential CQI call cancellation due to virtual Connectathon - no discussion occurred, co-chairs will let the Workgroup know via the listserv next week.


  • Tue May 19 sub-group call may be focused on a recap of the Virtual Connectathon.


2

Depression Outcomes Project

Updated PSS approval

Outcome Criteria Framework Implementation Guide

  • PSS was approved on April 10th.
  • PSS approved by the CDS WG as co-sponsor (4/29/2020 CDS meeting minutes) contingent on the change to go through normative track. 

Updated PSS for a vote (Bob and Michelle)

Bob Dolin walked through the changes that have occurred to the PSS and the CQI discussed.

Floyd Eisenberg moves to approve the changes to the PSS as a sponsored project of CQI, Ben Hamlin seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 28-0-0

3Quality Measure Reporting White Paper Ballot is now open - balloting period April 10th - May 11th
4

FHIR Quality Measure IG

Quality Measure IG Jira Issues Filter

All ballot comments were voted on as of the CQI meeting on 5/1/2020. 

CI Build: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/cqf-measures/


Quality Measure IG JIRA Issues that Need to be Revisited:

FHIR-26655 (for FHIR Core)

Below are the changes being made to the previously approved FHIR tracker:

1 - 'numerator' and 'denominator' codes will not be modified.  Definitions for 'numerator' and 'denominator' are being updated instead.  No need to modify 'measure population' as it already includes the criteria for inclusion.

2 - a concept map between the FHIR codes and HQMF codes will be included.

Chelsea King Arthur moves to re-open the FHIR tracker, Cynthia Barton seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 29-0-0

Bryn Rhodes moves to approve the changes to the FHIR tracker, Cynthia seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 28-0-0

FHIR-26656 (for QM IG)

The change to the previously approved FHIR tracker is to apply the changes identified in FHIR-26655 to both the diagram and guidance within the IG.

Floyd Eisenberg moves to re-open the FHIR tracker, Bryn Rhodes seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 28-0-0

Floyd Eisenberg moves to approve the changes to the FHIR tracker, Abdullah Rafiqi seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 29-0-0

5

DEQM IG

Da Vinci DEQM Trackers for upcoming DEQM calls Zulip stream 

Three issues are still remaining as of now, will be brought to the CQI when the proposed resolutions are ready. - Check with Eric

CI Build: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/branches/R4-Branch/StructureDefinition-indv-measurereport-deqm.html

New Jira Issue:

FHIR-27044

Da Vinci DEQM Trackers

FHIR-27044

Based on discussion, the Resolution is as follows.  In addition, it is for both the Individual and Summary Report.

  • A new Tracker will be submitted to the base spec to relax the binding to be extensible for improvementNotation and add scoring.  Include that they SHALL be consistent with the measure referenced from the measureReport. 
  • FHIR-27044 will be updated to define an extension to support expressing scoring with an invariant that the improvementNotation SHALL be included when scoring is proportion, ratio, or continuous variable.

Both items will be brought back to CQI for approval once the proposed solution for both have been worked through.

Linda Michaelsen moves to approve as proposed, Floyd Eisenberg seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 28-0-0

6

Clinical Reasoning FHIR Resources (owned by CQI)

  • Measure
  • MeasureReport 

Individual issues - Check with Bryn

  • Measure Resource
  • MeasureReport Resource
No discussion occured.
7

QI-Core 

QI-Core IG Jira Issues Filter

FHIR-26592 - Naming of QUICK vs QI-Core Logical View TRIAGED   (change QUICK logical view name to QI-Core logical view)

FHIR-26656 - New measure component details and definitions

FHIR-26829 - Consideration for Medication List for patient-reported medications

QI-Core IG JIRA Issues

FHIR-26592 - Naming of QUICK vs QI-Core Logical View TRIAGED   (change QUICK logical view name to QI-Core logical view)

Will discuss after the Connectathon.

FHIR-26829 - Consideration for Medication List for patient-reported medications

Waiting for US Core to apply their associated FHIR-25035 Tracker so CQI can update QI-Core.

US Core will discuss these changes in the Cross Workgroup workgroup starting on 5/21.

8QRDA

QRDA I STU 5.2 STU Comment

QRDA I STU 5.2 Errata update 

QRDA I STU 5.2 STU Comment

Yan Heras moves to approve as proposed, Matt Tiller seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 27-0-0

Yan Heras moves to approve as proposed, Matt Tiller seconds.

Approve/Oppose/Abstain: 27-0-0

9Gaps in Care 

Project confluence page

Gaps in Care Meetings and Minutes

Gaps In Care Supporting Materials

No further discussion.  The improvementNotation discussion (FHIR-27044) supports the Gaps in Care project.

Gaps in Care will be a part of the virtual Connectathon which is occuring next week (5/13-5/16).  See 2020-05 Da Vinci Gaps in Care Track Confluence Page for more information.

10CQL

Ballot site: https://cql.hl7.org/2020May/index.html

Normative ballot is now open - balloting period April 10th - May 11th
11SANER Project

Discuss COVID-19 project managed by Patient Administration WG (uses FHIR Measure and Measure Report): 

Project Page for Situation Awareness for Novel Epidemic Response FHIR IG

CQI co-chairs will try to get someone from the project to attend a call.
12

Decision Making Practices -

Changes to the eVoting section

Update about the proposed changes to the eVoting section of the Decision Making Practices (DMPs)

Paul walked through HL7's proposed changes to the Electronic Voting component of the generic DMP V4.0.

The CQI Workgroup currently uses the generic version of the Electronic Voting section in the CQI DMP.

If you have any comments or concerns about these proposed changes, please send an email to the CQI co-chairs.

13Working Group Meetings

May WGM Cancelled - review agenda for potential need for combined calls with other WGs as initially planned for the face-to-face meeting —  WGM Agenda/Minutes San Antonio May 2020 - DRAFT

Planned list of joint meetings from cancelled May WGM to consider for joint conference calls:

NOTE - HL7 will be sending out information for Co-chairs to be able to invite each other's WGs to joint calls (similar to the invitation system used for the WGMs). If we identify joint calls we want and potential content for such sessions, your co-chairs will know which WGs to invite.

  • Orders and Observations (CQI, CIMI, CDS) – Monday Q3 Also Observation Media DocumentReport/DiagnosticReport
  • CDS and FHIR Infrastructure (CQI, CDS, FHIR I) –
  • EHR WG – Usability, Podiatry, Wound Assessment Template FHIR IG
  • Patient Care (elective procedures, Principal Vs Primary Diagnosis) (Vocab, CIMI, Structured Documents, Orders and Observation, CQI)
  • CDS, CQI and CIMI (FHIR profiles for CDS and CQI – QUICK/QI-Core)
  • CDS and CQI – MedicationKnowledge, Potential Drug/Drug Interactions, EBM-on-FHIR, Clinical Trials Research, CQL
  • Learning Health Systems – Care Team DAM

CQI needs to determine if we need to convene the requested face-to-face joint meetings as conference calls.

Co-chairs will discuss and bring to the next call:

  • Orders and Observations (CQI, CIMI, CDS) – Monday Q3
    • Topics:  Observation Media DocumentReport/DiagnosticReport
  • CDS and FHIR Infrastructure (CQI, CDS, FHIR I)
    • Topics:
  • Patient Care
    • Topics:  elective procedures, Principal Vs Primary Diagnosis
    • Workgroups: Vocab, CIMI, Structured Documents, Orders and Observation, CQI)
  • CDS, CQI and CIMI
    • Topics: FHIR profiles for CDS and CQI – QUICK/QI-Core
  • CDS and CQI –
    • Topics:  MedicationKnowledge, Potential Drug/Drug Interactions, EBM-on-FHIR, Clinical Trials Research, CQL
  • Learning Health Systems
    • Topics: Care Team DAM
    • This invitation is sent by LHS and they typically drive the topics for discussion.
  • EHR WG
    • Topics: Usability, Podiatry, Wound Assessment Template FHIR IG
    • These invitations are sent by EHR and they typically drive the topics for discussion.
  • EHR WG - Mega Report
    • Multiple workgroup discussion
    • They have sent a suggestion for when to meet.

Virtual Working Group Meeting:

  • EHR WG has invitied CQI to joint the Mega Reportout on Mon 5/18 at 11am -12:30pm ET.


  • FHIR Management Group will be meeting during their normal meeting time on Wed 5/20 and have asked if all Workgroups could join them at this time.  If CQI wants to meet individual, we need to email FMG.
    • CQI will need to fill out FMG's request for updating 


  • Orders and Observations (CQI, CIMI, CDS)
    • CQI co-chairs will work with OO to find a timeslot.
    • Proposed topics:
      • Clarification of when to reference observations as “observations” versus DiagnosticReportLab, DiagnosticReportNote has been a standing issue for CQI (and perhaps CDS).
      • Also, a status report on work for DeviceUseStatement, Nutrition and biologically derived products.
    • Individuals that would like to be involved:
      • Mia Nievera (Nutrition and biologically derived products)
      • others?

Connectathon - update that tools are being worked on.


14Connect-a-thons

Virtual Connectathon May 13 - 15

Virtual Connectathon May 13 - 15

2020-05 Clinical Reasoning Track Confluence Page 

2020-05 Da Vinci Gaps in Care Track Confluence Page

15Project Updates

Review of current projects - found on home page here.

Reminder:

  1. CQI FHIR Quality Measure Project Subgroup calls:
    1. Call Information: 
  2. DEQM / DaVinci calls: 
  3. Gaps in Care DaVinci calls: 
  4. Cross Workgroups Project WG (now managing US Core balloting) - Considering new PSS for metadata for Apps: Marketplace Product Packaging and Metadata

No additional project updates were provided.
16Balloting timeline

Balloting schedule (confirm on HL7 Calendars):


PSS Deadline Dates for Future Ballots
September 2020 Ballot Cycle
April 19, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
July 5, 2020
NIB Deadline

January 2021 Ballot Cycle


June 5, 2020
Submit Work Group Approved PSS to the PMO
August 23, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
November 1, 2020
NIB Deadline
May 2021 Ballot Cycle
October 9, 2020
Submit Work Group Approved PSS to the PMO
December 18, 2020
TSC Approval of the PSS
TBD
NIB Deadline...................................


Ballots open for voting April 10 - May 11, 2020 (ballots will go on as planned even without WGM)

See table to the left for the PSS deadline dates for future ballots.

  • No labels