Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Chair: @ Juliet Rubini

Scribe: @ Yan Heras 

Dial-in number (US): Dial-in number (US): (712) 451-0740
Access code: 449751#
International dial-in numbers: https://fccdl.in/i/hl7cqiwg 

Join the online meeting: https://join.freeconferencecall.com/hl7cqiwg

Attendees 


Oops, it seems that you need to place a table or a macro generating a table within the Table Filter macro.

The table is being loaded. Please wait for a bit ...

AttendeeAttendee's OrganizationAttendee's emailPresent

Abdul Malik

Hi3 Solutions

abdulmalik.shakir@hi3solutions.com


Abdullah RafiqiESAC

abdullah.rafiqi@esacinc.com

yes

Alex Liu

EPIC

aliu@epic.com


Andrea Pitkus

-

apitkus@gmail.com


Andrews KanterIMO Healthakanter@imohealth.com

Andrey Soares

U C Denver

andrey.soares@ucdenver.edu


Angela Flanagan

Lantana Consulting Group

angela.flanagan@lantanagroup.com


Angie GlosteinCerner

angie.glostein@cerner.com


Ann Phillips

NCQA

phillps@ncqa.org


Anne Smith

NCQA

smith@ncqa.org


Apurva Dharia

ESAC

apurva.dharia@esacinc.com


Ben Ghahhari

CMS

benjamin.ghahhari@cms.hhs.gov


Ben Hamlin

NCQA

hamlin@ncqa.org


Bo Borgnakke

Michigan Shared Services Network

borgnakke@mihin.org


Bob Dieterle

Enable Care, LLC

rdieterle@enablecare.us


Bob Keyes

Telligen

bkeyes@telligen.com


Brett Marquard

River Rock Associates

brett@riverockassociates.com


Brian Alper

EBSCO

balper@ebsco.com


Bryn Rhodes

ESAC

bryn@databaseconsultinggroup.com

yes

Casey Thompson


casey@govhealth.com  


Chana West

CDQ Solutions

cwest@cdq-solutions.com


Chelsea King ArthurSemantic Bitschelsea.kingarthur@semanticbits.comyes

Chris Moesel

MITRE

cmoesel@mitre.org


Claude Nanjo


cnanjo@gmail.com


Claudia Hall

Mathematica

chall@mathematicampr.org


Courtney Breece

 Inovalon

cbreece@inovalon.com 


Craig Newman

Altartum

craig.newman@altarum.org


Crystal Kallem

CK Consulting

crystal.kallem@ckconsultingllc.com


Cynthia BartonCognitive Medicalcbarton@cognitivemedical.com

Dan Donahue

ESAC

dan.donahue@esacinc.com


Daryl Chertcoff 

HLN Consulting

daryl@hln.com


David Sundaram-Stukel

EPIC

dsandara@epic.com


Deb HallMeditechdhall@meditech.com

Dipti Ghandi

The Joint Commission

dghandi@jointcommission.org


Durwin Day

BCBSA

dday@bsbsil


Eric Askegaard

UHG

eric_askegaard@uhg.com


Eric Sullivan

Inovalon

esullivan@inovalon.com


Fareeda Nazeer

The Joint Commission

fnazeer@jointcommission.org


Floyd Eisenberg

iParsimony, LLC

FEisenberg@iParsimony.com


Galen HamannVAgalen.hamann@va.gov

Gay Dolin

Namaste Informatics

gdolin@namasteinformatics.com

yes
Gayathri JayawardenaESACgayathri.jayawardena@esacinc.comyes
Genny LuensmanCDCgluensman@cdc.gov

Glen Raley

Humana

graley@humana.com


Hafsa Subhan

The Joint Commission

hsubhan@jointcommission.org


Heather McComasAMAHeather.McComas@ama-assn.org

Heather Patrick

CDC

htx7@cdc.gov


Howard Strasberg

Wolters Kluwer

howard.strasberg@wolterskluwer.com


Humberto Mandirola

Biocom

hmandirola@biocom.com


iIkka Kunnamo

Duodecim

jilkkakunnamo@duodecim.fl


isabel Zaru-Roque

ESAC

isabel.zaru-roque@esacinc.com


James Bradley

Mitre

jhbradley@mitre.org


Jamie Lehner

PCPI

jamie.lehner@thepcpi.org

yes

Jana Malinowski

Cerner

cerjkm@cerner.com


Javier Espina

Philips

javier.espina@philips.com

yes

Jeff Schmitz

Health eFilings

jschmitz@healthefilings.com


Jeff Smith

UHC

jeffery_s_smith@uhc.com


Jen Seeman

ESAC

jennifer.seeman@esacinc.com

yes

Jenny Brush

ESAC

jennifer.brush@esacinc.com


Jerry Goodnough


Jessica Ordoyne

Dynamic Health

jordoyne@dynamichealthit.com


Jimmy Newton
jimmynewton@gmail.com
Joe BormelCognitive Medicinejbormel@cognitivemedicine.comyes

Joe Kunisch

Memorial Hermann

kunisch@memorialhermann.org


Joe Quinn

Optum

joseph.quinn@optum.com


John Damore

Diameter Health

jdamore@diameterhealth.com


John Loonsk


john.loonsk@cgifederal.com


Jonathan LaDeauMeditechjladeau@meditech.com

Julia Skapik




Juliet Rubini

Mathematica

jrubini@mathematicampr.com

yes
K ZapataDiameter Healthkzapata@diameterhealth.com

Kathleen Connor

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kathleen_connor@comcast.net


Kathy Carson SemanticBitskathy.carson@semanticbits.com

Ken Hall

Veradigm Health

kenneth.hall@veradigmhealth.com


Kurt Allen

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kurta@gjoll.com


Laura

CDC

lconn@cdc.gov


Lenel James

BCBSA

lenel.james@bcbsa.org


Leslie SmartHumana

lsmart3@humana.com


Linda Michaelsen

Optum

linda.michaelsen@optum.com

yes
Lyn LibertyMeditechlliberty@meditech.com

Lisa Anderson

NCQA

landerson@ncqa.org


Lisa Nelson

Life Over Time Solutions, LLC

LisaRNelson@cox.net


Liz Hartley-Sommers

BCBSA

elizabeth.hartley@bcbsla.com


Lorraine Constable

HL7 Canada

lorraine@constable.ca


Luke Osborne

MITRE

lwosborne@mitre.org


Lynn Perrine

Lantana

lynn.perrine@lantanagroup.org


Marc Hallez

The Joint Commission

mhallez@jointcommission.org

yes

Mark Taylor


mark.taylor@readycomputing.com


Matt Elrod Max MD

elrod@max.md


Matt Hardman

Cerner

matt.hardman@cerner.com


Matthew Dugal

Dynamic Health

mdugal@dynamichealthit.com


Matthew Tiller

ESAC

matthew.tiller@esacinc.com

yes

May Terry

Mitre

mayt@mitre.org


Mia Nievera

The Joint Commission

mnievera@jointcommission.org

yes

Michael O'Keefe

MITRE

mokeefe@mitre.org


Michelle MillerCerner

michelle.m.miller@cerner.com


Michelle Mish Turner

UHC

michelle-p-turner@uhc.org


Mike Ballie

UHC

michael.ballie@uhc.com


Mike Hunt

Experian

mike.hunt@experian.com


Mitra Biglari

The Joint Commission

mbiglari@jointcommission.org

yes

Nancy Whipple

GE

nancy.whipple@ge.com


Nathan Bunker


nbunker@immregistries.org


Nick Radov

UHC

nradov@uhc.org


Pamela Mahan-Rudolph

Memorial

pamela.mahanrudolph@memorialhermann.org 


Patty Craig

The Joint Commission

pcraig@jointcommission.org

yes

Paul Denning

MITRE

pauld@mitre.org

yes

Peter Muir


peter@pjmConsultingLlc.com

yes

Ping Jiang

The Joint Commission

pjiang@jointcommission.org

yes

Rathore Garima


rathore.garima1@gmail.com


Rebeccah Baer

NCQA

baer@ncqa.org


Rhonda Schwartz

ESAC Inc

rhonda.schwartz@esacinc.com


Ricardo Quintano

Philips

ricardo.quintano@philips.com


Rich Boyce


codehop.dev@gmail.com


Rinku MasterNCQA

master@ncqa.org


Rob McClure

MD Partners Inc

rmcclure@mdpartners.com


Robert Samples

ESAC Inc

robert.samples@esacinc.com

yes
Ron Chee


Rukma Joshi

ESAC Inc

rukma.joshi@esacinc.com


Ryan Clark

NCQA

ryan@ncqa.org


Ryan Weber


ryan.weber@uhc.com


Sam Sayer

Mitre

ssayer@mitre.org


Scott FradkinFlexionsfradkin@flexion.usyes
Serhii IlinSemanticBitsserhii.ilin@semanticbits.com

Serafina Versaggi

JP Systems

serafina.versaggi@jpsystems.com


Sharon Peters


Stan Rankins

Telligen

SRankins@telligen.com


Steve Hufnagel


steve.hufnagel.hl7@gmail.com


Sue Kent

CCF

kents@ccf.org


Sweta Ladwa

ESAC inc

sweta.ladwa@esacinc.com


Tammy KuschelAcustafT.kuschel@acustaf.com

Thomas Reese

U of Utah

thomas.reese@hsc.utah.edu


Thomson Kuhn

ACP

tkuhn@acponline.org

yes
Tom StrassnerMITRE

tsrassner@mitre.org


Traci Psihas

ESAC Inc 

traci.psihas@esacinc.com


Viet Nguyen

Strata Metrics

vietnguyen@stratametrics.com


Walter Suarez

Kaiser Permanente

walter.g.suarez@kp.org


Wendy Talbot

NCQA

talbot@ncqa.org


Yan Heras

Optimum eHealth

yanheras@gmail.com

yes

Yanyan Hu

The Joint Commission

yhu@jointcommission.org

yes

Zabrina Gonzaga 

Lantana Consulting 

zabriana.gonzaga@lantanagroup.com


Meeting Minutes


Agenda Outline

Agenda Item

Meeting Minutes
1Announcements 
  1. HIMSS20 cancelled
    1. Tuesday sub group call reinstated for March 10th
  2. CMS has posted the Draft 2021 CMS QRDA IG and Schematron for Hospital Quality Reporting (HQR) for public comment starting March 5, 2020 and ending on April 1, 2020. The draft IG and schematrons are available for download at QRDA-861.
The IG and Scheamtrons were in the QRDA-861 Jira ticket as attachments directly
2Monthly STU review

QRDA Category III STU 2.1: http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=212

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues

QRDA Category I STU 5.0 http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=246

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues

QRDA Category I STU 5.1 http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=220

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues

QRDA Category I STU 5.2 http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=283

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues

CQL-based HQMF STU 3 http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=230

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues

CQL-based HQMF STU 4 http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=257

  • Comments as of March 6, 2020 - no new issues
No new issues to review. 
3Quality Measure Reporting White Paper 

NIB for Quality White Paper: http://www.hl7.org/Special/committees/tsc/ballotmanagement/index.cfm?wg_id=143 (NIB prepped and ready for review with Bryn and group)

FHIR-Based Quality Reporting White Paper :  

Initial ballot content due March 15th

Final content due March 29:

  • content availability for CQI WG by March 23
  • CQI WG vote on March 27

Continue develop content for the White Paper. The github for the White Paper has been set up, but Bryn hasn't had time to push the content to it yet. Plan to publish the White Paper from the github. Right now, the google drive works well for collaborations.

There are still quite a few TODOs in the document, it would be great if members would be contributing, especially on the examples, could either provide example or point to where those examples are, such as:

Specific examples fo expressivity in FHIR-based Quality Measures

Specific examples of alignment with clinical systems.

Specific examples of the use of profiles (under Conformance)

Encourage members to provide some write ups for the Liquidity and Community sections. 

Specific examples for the Reusability section

Implementability

Bryn will not be available for the 3/10 subgroup call. Will plan to review the White Paper content on the 3/13 work group call. 

4FHIR Quality Measure IG

FHIR Quality Measure IG now published for FHIR STU 3: http://hl7.org/fhir/us/cqfmeasures/

R4 version in ballot: http://hl7.org/fhir/us/cqfmeasures/2020FEB/index.html

Follow up on tickets related to measure populations: 

  • 25501 In Figure 3-9, shouldn't the patient that gets into the Measure Population also get into the Initial Population?
  • 25551 Revise the Calculation flow for Proportion Measures
  • 25550 Remove Initial population from the Denominator Exclusion definition for proportion measures
  • 26342 Harmonize population terminology

Jira issues for QM IG

FHIR-21687 Glossary project (reopened issue)

FHIR-26432 Ability to express program for measure

FHIR-26335 Use of specific SCT module URI

FHIR-25646 Provide terminology guidance usage

FHIR-25636 Provide guidance for avoiding value set computations

FHIR-25635 Use of terminology artifacts for quality measures should align with CPG work

Reviewed the draft proportion measure and continuous variable measure flow diagrams. 

The group is ok with the idea of completely revamping and not having to stay with the current flow chart format. 

Some suggestions include: could take a water down approach, pyramid to show the size of populations decreasing 

Will make modifications based on the feedback from the group and bring back for further review and discussions. 

FHIR 26342 is also related to the measure populations discussions. 

FHIR-26335 Bryn moved to approve as correction. Rob Samples seconded.  approve-oppose-abstain: 22-0-0

FHIR-26432 define a profile of Library resource called CQFM Reporting program will be asset collection library type. The type element will be fixed to a new 'Quality Program' code.  Will have references to the measures in the modeled program and other elements as appropriate. 

A note about reporting, in DEQM, will provide capability to reference to indicate which program this report is for. 

Bryn moved to approve FHIR-26432. Rob Samples seconded.  approve-oppose-abstain: 21-0-0

FHIR-21687 re-opening, no change to the IG, only administrative.  Bryn moved/Rob seconded.  approve-oppose-abstain: 20-0-0

5DEQM IG

Block vote 2

  1. J#25716 Measure report profiles should require id element (bryn.rhodes) Persuasive
  2. J#25592 Profile requires identifier.type (craig.newman) Persuasive with Modification
  3. J#25586 "Possible missing ""not"" in Guidance section" (craig.newman) Persuasive

Separate item for discussion:

J#25719: Need more example use cases (patricia-craig)

Block Vote 2. No requests to pull any issues from the Block Vote.

Linda Michaelsen moved to approve the Block Vote 2/Bryn seconded.  approve-oppose-abstain: 20-0-0

FHIR-25719 discussion and vote:

http://cdasearch.hl7.org/ CDA examples. 

There are some examples in FHIR space, such as HEDIS content, Draft Measures IG which is same type of working space for CMS FHIR measures. Content IG could be developed based on the existing patterns. What it does is to use FHIR IG machinery to publish the content but not intended to ballot.  

For example, the Opioid Prescribing Support Implementation Guide is already taking this approach and using the publishing template: build.fhir.org/ig/cqframework/opioid-cds/

Patty Craig moved to approve as persuasive with mod for FHIR-25719/Linda Michaelsen seconded.  approve-oppose-abstain: 20-0-0

Linda noted that the presentation that was planned for HIMSS next week will now be done virtually next week. See Da Vinci 2020 Calendar for details. 

6QI-Core 

The publication version of QI-Core R4 approved for publication by CQI on February 14 as was the publication request. Location of pre-publication content: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/fhir-qi-core/index.html

Status of FMG review (3/4) and TSC eVote (week of 3/9)

Jira issues for QI-Core

Consider plans for May 2020 HL7 Connectathon to test QI-Core's QUICK Logical View for authoring of eCQMs.

QI-Core vs QUICK - Seeking broad input to establish a business case to help with decisions moving forward.  To be discussed at 10 am Tuesday sub group calls.

The Tuesday am subgroup call next week will occur (previously cancelled due to HIMSS).  There’s nothing otherwise to report on QI-Core.

FMG approved moving ahead with publication of QI-Core after minor tweaks with tooling. Bryn will apply the tweaks and have it ready for TSC next Monday. Hopefully will publish soon after TSC approval next week. 

7Gaps in Care 

Project confluence page

Gaps In Care Supporting Materials

Recording of DEQM Overview

Old Gaps in Care: As of 1/13/2020 project has been deactivated and Dave Hamill aware for Project Insight record keeping (Project 1427)

Gaps In Care is currently working on the needed operations. 
8QRDA 

QRDA I STU 5.2 - PUBLISHED!

(Note that updated QRDA schematrons are now stored to GitHub site (https://github.com/HL7/wg-cqiwg))

No additional updates
9CQL 

Project updates as needed

For reference - STU comments for CQL Specification are located here http://www.hl7.org/dstucomments/showdetail.cfm?dstuid=264

No updates

10Working Group Meetings

San Antonio (May 16-22):  Draft agenda review WGM Agenda/Minutes San Antonio May 2020 - DRAFT

No updates
11Connect-a-thons

HL7 San Antonio May 16 - 17

No updates
12Project Updates

Review of current projects - found on home page here.

Reminder:

  1. CQI FHIR Quality Measure Project Subgroup calls:
    1. Call Information: 
  2. DEQM / DaVinci calls: 
  3. Gaps in Care DaVinci calls: 
  4. Cross Workgroups Project WG (now managing US Core balloting) - Considering new PSS for metadata for Apps: Marketplace Product Packaging and Metadata

Both DEQM and Gaps in Care call next week are cancelled. This is due to Da Vinci Panel presentations, see Da Vinci 2020 Calendar for details. 

13Balloting timeline

Balloting schedule (confirm on HL7 Calendars):

Approvals for May 2020 Ballot Cycle

  • October 4, 2019 - PSS deadline
  • January 5, 2020 - TSC approval for all PSS for May 2020 Ballot Cycle (requires approval by sponsors, co-sponsors, Steering Division, and Management Group, and other groups such as Architectural Review Board if indicated
  • Harmonization initial proposals due February 20, 2020
  • NIBs due March 1, 2020
  • Harmonization final proposals due March 5, 2020
  • Initial ballot content March 15, 2020
  • Harmonization meeting March 19, 2020
  • Reconciliation Deadline and Ballot Preview Period March 22, 2020
  • Final ballot content April 5, 2020
  • Ballot sign up March 9 - April 9, 2020
  • Ballots open for voting April 10 - May 11, 2020

Meeting adjourned:  2:47 pm ET

Next meeting: March 13th, 2020 12pm - 2pm ET

  • No labels