Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Chair:  @Yan Heras

Scribe: @Juliet Rubini

Attendees


Oops, it seems that you need to place a table or a macro generating a table within the Table Filter macro.

The table is being loaded. Please wait for a bit ...


AttendeeAttendee's OrganizationAttendee's emailPresent
1

Abdul Malik

Hi3 Solutions

abdulmalik.shakir@hi3solutions.com


2Abdullah RafiqiESAC

abdullah.rafiqi@esacinc.com

yes

3

Alex Liu

EPIC

aliu@epic.com


4

Andrea Pitkus

-

apitkus@gmail.com


5Andrews KanterIMO Healthakanter@imohealth.com
6

Andrey Soares

U C Denver

andrey.soares@ucdenver.edu


7

Angela Flanagan

Lantana Consulting Group

angela.flanagan@lantanagroup.com


8Angie GlosteinCerner

angie.glostein@cerner.com

yes
9

Ann Phillips

NCQA

phillps@ncqa.org

yes
10

Anne Smith

NCQA

smith@ncqa.org


11

Apurva Dharia

ESAC

apurva.dharia@esacinc.com


12

Ben Ghahhari

CMS

benjamin.ghahhari@cms.hhs.gov


13

Ben Hamlin

NCQA

hamlin@ncqa.org

yes
14

Bo Borgnakke

Michigan Shared Services Network

borgnakke@mihin.org


15

Bob Dieterle

Enable Care, LLC

rdieterle@enablecare.us


16

Bob Keyes

Telligen

bkeyes@telligen.com


17

Brett Marquard

River Rock Associates

brett@riverockassociates.com


18

Brian Alper

EBSCO

balper@ebsco.com


19

Bryn Rhodes

ESAC

bryn@databaseconsultinggroup.com

yes

20

Casey Thompson


casey@govhealth.com  


21

Chana West

ESAC Inc

chana.west@esacinc.com


22

Chris Moesel

MITRE

cmoesel@mitre.org


23

Claude Nanjo


cnanjo@gmail.com


24

Claudia Hall

Mathematica

chall@mathematicampr.org

yes
25

Courtney Breece

 Inovalon

cbreece@inovalon.com 


26

Craig Newman

Altartum

craig.newman@altarum.org


27

Crystal Kallem

CK Consulting

crystal.kallem@ckconsultingllc.com


28Cynthia BartonCognitive Medicalcbarton@cognitivemedical.comyes
29

Dan Donahue

ESAC

dan.donahue@esacinc.com


30

Daryl Chertcoff 

HLN Consulting

daryl@hln.com


31

David Sundaram-Stukel

EPIC

dsandara@epic.com


32Deb HallMeditechdhall@meditech.com
33

Dipti Ghandi

The Joint Commission

dghandi@jointcommission.org


34

Durwin Day

BCBSA

dday@bsbsil


35

Eric Askegaard

UHG

eric_askegaard@uhg.com


36

Eric Sullivan

Inovalon

esullivan@inovalon.com


37

Fareeda Nazeer

The Joint Commission

fnazeer@jointcommission.org


38

Floyd Eisenberg

iParsimony, LLC

FEisenberg@iParsimony.com

yes
39

Gay Dolin

Namaste Informatics

gdolin@namasteinformatics.com

yes
40Genny LuensmanCDCgluensman@cdc.gov



41

Glen Raley

Humana

graley@humana.com


42

Hafsa Subhan

The Joint Commission

hsubhan@jointcommission.org


43

Heather Patrick

CDC

htx7@cdc.gov


44

Howard Strasberg

Wolters Kluwer

howard.strasberg@wolterskluwer.com


45

Humberto Mandirola

Biocom

hmandirola@biocom.com


46

iIkka Kunnamo

Duodecim

jilkkakunnamo@duodecim.fl


47

isabel Zaru-Roque

ESAC

isabel.zaru-roque@esacinc.com


48

James Bradley

Mitre

jhbradley@mitre.org


49

Jamie Lehner

PCPI

jamie.lehner@thepcpi.org


50

Jana Malinowski

Cerner

cerjkm@cerner.com


51

Javier Espina

Philips

javier.espina@philips.com


52

Jeff Schmitz

Health eFilings

jschmitz@healthefilings.com


53

Jeff Smith

UHC

jeffery_s_smith@uhc.com


54

Jen Seeman

ESAC

jennifer.seeman@esacinc.com

yes
55

Jenny Brush

ESAC

jennifer.brush@esacinc.com


56

Jessica Ordoyne

Dynamic Health

jordoyne@dynamichealthit.com


57Joe BormelCognitive Medicinejbormel@cognitivemedicine.com
58

Joe Kunisch

Memorial Hermann

kunisch@memorialhermann.org


59

Joe Quinn

Optum

joseph.quinn@optum.com


60

John Damore

Diameter Health

jdamore@diameterhealth.com


61

John Loonsk


john.loonsk@cgifederal.com


62

Julia Skapik

Cognitive Medicine

jskapik@cognitivemedicine.com


63

Juliet Rubini

Mathematica

jrubini@mathematicampr.com

yes
64K ZapataDiameter Healthkzapata@diameterhealth.com
65

Kathleen Connor

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kathleen_connor@comcast.net


66

Ken Hall

Veradigm Health

kenneth.hall@veradigmhealth.com


67

Kurt Allen

US Dept of Veterans Affairs

kurta@gjoll.com


68

Laura

CDC

lconn@cdc.gov


69

Lenel James

BCBSA

lenel.james@bcbsa.org


70

Linda Michaelsen

Optum

linda.michaelsen@optum.com



Lyn LibertyMeditechlliberty@meditech.comyes
71

Lisa Anderson

NCQA

landerson@ncqa.org


72

Lisa Nelson

Life Over Time Solutions, LLC

LisaRNelson@cox.net


73

Liz Hartley-Sommers

BCBSA

elizabeth.hartley@bcbsla.com


74

Lorraine Constable

HL7 Canada

lorraine@constable.ca


75

Luke Osborne

MITRE

lwosborne@mitre.org


76

Lynn Perrine

Lantana

lynn.perrine@lantanagroup.org


77

Marc Hallez

The Joint Commission

mhallez@jointcommission.org

yes
78

Mark Taylor


mark.taylor@readycomputing.com


79Matt Elrod Max MD

elrod@max.md


80

Matt Hardman

Cerner

matt.hardman@cerner.com


81

Matthew Dugal

Dynamic Health

mdugal@dynamichealthit.com


82

Matthew Tiller

ESAC

matthew.tiller@esacinc.com

yes
83

May Terry

Mitre

mayt@mitre.org


84

Mia Nievera

The Joint Commission

mnievera@jointcommission.org


85

Michael O'Keefe

MITRE

mokeefe@mitre.org


86Michelle MillerCerner

michelle.m.miller@cerner.com


87

Michelle Mish Turner

UHC

michelle-p-turner@uhc.org


88

Mike Ballie

UHC

michael.ballie@uhc.com


89

Mike Hunt

Experian

mike.hunt@experian.com


90

Mitra Biglari

The Joint Commission

mbiglari@jointcommission.org


91

Nancy Whipple

GE

nancy.whipple@ge.com


92

Nathan Bunker


nbunker@immregistries.org


93

Nick Radov

UHC

nradov@uhc.org


94

Pamela Mahan-Rudolph

Memorial

pamela.mahanrudolph@memorialhermann.org 


95

Patty Craig

The Joint Commission

pcraig@jointcommission.org


96

Paul Denning

MITRE

pauld@mitre.org

yes
97

Peter Muir


peter@pjmConsultingLlc.com

yes
98

Ping Jiang

The Joint Commission

pjiang@jointcommission.org


99

Rathore Garima


rathore.garima1@gmail.com


100

Rebeccah Baer

NCQA

baer@ncqa.org


101

Rhonda Schwartz

ESAC Inc

rhonda.schwartz@esacinc.com


102

Ricardo Quintano

Philips

ricardo.quintano@philips.com


103

Rich Boyce


codehop.dev@gmail.com


104Rinku MasterNCQA

master@ncqa.org

yes
105

Rob McClure

MD Partners Inc

rmcclure@mdpartners.com


106

Robert Samples

ESAC Inc

robert.samples@esacinc.com

yes
107Ron Chee


108

Rukma Joshi

ESAC Inc

rukma.joshi@esacinc.com


109

Ryan Clark

NCQA

ryan@ncqa.org


110

Ryan Weber


ryan.weber@uhc.com


111

Sam Sayer

Mitre

ssayer@mitre.org


112Scott FradkinFlexionsfradkin@flexion.usyes
113

Serafina Versaggi

JP Systems

serafina.versaggi@jpsystems.com


114Sharon Peters


115

Stan Rankins

Telligen

SRankins@telligen.com

yes
116

Steve Hufnagel


steve.hufnagel.hl7@gmail.com


117

Sue Kent

CCF

kents@ccf.org


118

Sweta Ladwa

ESAC inc

sweta.ladwa@esacinc.com


119Tammy KuschelAcustafT.kuschel@acustaf.com
120

Thomas Reese

U of Utah

thomas.reese@hsc.utah.edu


121

Thomson Kuhn

ACP

tkuhn@acponline.org


122Tom StrassnerMITRE

tsrassner@mitre.org


123

Traci Psihas

ESAC Inc 

traci.psihas@esacinc.com


124

Viet Nguyen

Strata Metrics

vietnguyen@stratametrics.com

yes
125

Walter Suarez

Kaiser Permanente

walter.g.suarez@kp.org


126

Wendy Talbot

NCQA

talbot@ncqa.org


127

Yan Heras

Optimum eHealth

yanheras@gmail.com

yes
128

Yanyan Hu

The Joint Commission

yhu@jointcommission.org

yes
129

Zabrina Gonzaga 

Lantana Consulting 

 zabriana.gonzaga@lantanagroup.com


130

Zach May

ESAC Inc

zachary.may@esacinc.com


Minutes

Agenda Outline

Agenda Item

Minutes
Announcements 
  1. FHIR Tracker move to Jira - Update - still in development - look for email announcement about 1 week in advance of the change.
    1. Notification: For those who signed up for early ballot opening (i.e., off-cycle ballot) - HL7 FHIR® Implementation Guide: Payer Data Exchange (PDex) Payer Network, Release 1 - US Realm (Project 1489) - The ballot opened today for commenting (sign-up is closed).  Remember: Since HL7 expects to be transitioning FHIR tracking items JIRA during the ballot period, balloters are advised to use spreadsheets to submit their ballot comments.
    2. HL7 has now scheduled the migration of FHIR tracker items from GForge to JIRA for this coming weekend, November 15-17. We expect to be using JIRA exclusively for FHIR tracking tickets by Monday, Nov. 18.  

      1. To ensure that we migrate all Tracker items to JIRA, FHIR GForge Tracker will be locked to read-only at precisely 8pm EST on Friday, November 15 - no one will be able to enter or update FHIR tracker items in GForge after that time so we can ensure all content is migrated to JIRA.  

      2. For those of you who are new to JIRA, a set of brief webinars on the basics of using JIRA have been posted at https://confluence.hl7.org/display/HDH/JIRA+Tracking .  We believe you’ll find JIRA to be intuitive and natural, but we’ll be adding additional documentation and tips over time to this page to help improve your experience.  

  2. New DaVinci / HL7 Gaps in Care discussions: 

3. Cross Workgroups Project WG (now managing US Core balloting)

4. Consider canceling CQI call on November 29 (Thanksgiving weekend)

Yan provided an overview of the announcements.
QI-Core September 2019 Ballot Reconciliation

QI-Core IG Remaining September Ballot Tracker Items:

Status update of applying tracker resolutions.

Item 24074

Paul Denning moved to approve as recommended; Ben Hamlin seconded

Vote called 18-0-0


Item 24072

Paul Denning moved to approve as recommended; Bryn Rhodes seconded

Vote called 19-0-0


Item 24273

Rob Samples moved to approved with the resolution as written; Stan Rankins seconded

Vote called 20-0-0

DEQM IG 

DEQM Continuous Integration Build STU 3 publication version is located at: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/

  • Submitted for publication October 25, approved by FMG October 30, TSC eVote this week finalized on November 18.

DEQM R4 build: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/davinci-deqm/branches/R4-Branch/

(https://healthedata1.github.io/tempIGViewer/)

  • DEQM IG Planning and Important Dates:
    • 10/18 Due - FHIR DEQM IG (FHIR STU3 based) content done
    • (10/18-11/1) Uplifting DEQM from FHIR STU3 to FHIR R4 
    • 10/25 Due - Publication request of FHIR STU3 based IG
    • 11/1 Due - FHIR IG (FHIR R4 based) content for CQI WG review
    • 11/17 Due - FHIR IG Substantively Complete  (FHIR R4 based) for the Feb. 2020 ballot cycle
    • 11/17 Due - NIB for Feb. 2020 ballot cycle Completed and approved by CQI 11/8/2019

Consider vote to approve current R4 build is substantially complete.

FHIR Ballot readiness checklist: FHIR IG Review

Viet provided an update on the DEQM status.  Changes have been made for R4 version prior to balloting in February cycle.

The FHIR IG review checklist is to be completed before final content approval.  Not to be completed in the work group.

Viet Nguyen moved to approve the ballot submission as substantively complete; Bryn Rhodes seconded.

Vote called at 20-0-0

FHIR Quality Measure 

Quality Measure Implementation Guide: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/cqf-measures/branches/master/index.html Submitted for publication October 25, approved by FMG October 30, TSC eVote finalized on November 18.

FHIR Quality Measure IG R4 build: http://build.fhir.org/ig/HL7/cqf-measures/branches/R4_Lift/index.html  

  • FHIR Quality Measure IG Planning and Important Dates:
    • 10/18 Due - Complete applying changes for FHIR Quality Measure IG (FHIR STU3 based)
    • (10/18- 11/1) Uplifting FHIR Quality Measure IG from FHIR STU3 to FHIR R4 
    • 10/25 Due - Publication request of FHIR STU3 based IG 
    • 11/1 Due - FHIR IG (FHIR R4 based) content for CQI WG review 
    • 11/17 Due - FHIR IG Substantively Complete  (FHIR R4 based) for the Feb. 2020 ballot cycle
    • 11/17 Due - NIB for Feb. 2020 ballot cycle Completed and approved by CQI 11/8/2019

Consider vote to approve current R4 build is substantially complete.

FHIR Ballot readiness checklist: FHIR IG Review

Quality Measure IG Tracker Items:

  • 21097- reorganize metadata elements to be under the metadata section
  • 22761 - support communication of attestation measures — Promoting Interoperability (PI) and Improvement Activities (IA) for measure reporting as with QRDA Category III
  • 24102 - add population semantics explicit be explicit about how to interpret population criteria expressions that result in null (rather than false or a data element of the population basis type)

Bryn provided an IG update for the R4 version.


Viet Nguyen moved that we vote the R4 build as substantially complete, Bryn Rhodes seconded

Vote called at 18-0-0

Remaining three track items were determined to be resolved and just an agenda artifact.

Connectathons

DaVinci Connectathon (Philadelphia) December 11-12, 2019 Philadelphia Connectathon Hosted by Independence Blue Cross

CMS/HL7 Connectathon (Baltimore) January 7-8, 2020 http://www.hl7.org/events/cms/2020/01/index.cfm

HL7 Sydney February 2-3 2020-02 Connectathon 23

Viet provided an overview of the upcoming Philadelphia connectathon.  Davinci focused but all invited.


Bryn and Rob provided an overview of the CMS connectathon.  Will have a focus on preparing for the upcoming eCQM pilot.

Harmonization Proposals

Review Harmonization Proposals

Security WG proposal "Create a Compartment Security Label tag for CDS (Clinical Decision Support System) to support authorizing CDS to access information to which system end users may not be authorized due to restrictive privacy policies in order to enable patient safety alerts where e.g., an unauthorized provider may be ordering a medication or procedure, which is contraindicated based on masked information in the patient’s record."

Floyd reviewed the harmonization proposals.  Noted that the security WG proposal is of interest to the CDS workgroup.  

Floyd Eisenberg moved that we submit our CQI approval of these proposals; Gay Dolin seconded

Vote 19-0-0

CQL Specification Status

Update on the STU comments for CQL Specification

CQL 1.4 Errata

This errata will not impact the CQL based HQMF.  
Da Vinci - Gaps in Care 

DEQM PSS to support Gaps in Care status update

  • TSC approved

New DaVinci / HL7 Gaps in Care discussions: 

CDA based Gaps in Care project update - moving forward or does it need to be withdrawn?

 New call starting 11/21 to support the inclusion of Gaps in Care in the DEQM PSS.

Gay will reach out to John Diamore at Diameter Health to get input on whether the CDA based Gaps in Care needs to be kept active.

February Working Group meeting (Sydney)

DRAFT CQI Agenda February 2020 WGM (Sydney, Australia)

Yan reviewed the draft content for the meeting.
Project Updates

Review of current projects - found on home page here.

Reminder:

  1. CQI FHIR Quality Measure Project Subgroup calls:
    1. Call Information: 
  2. DEQM / DaVinci calls: 
  3. Gaps in Care DaVinci calls: 

Yan provided an update on the ongoing sub group calls.



Balloting timeline

Balloting schedule (confirm on HL7 Calendars):

February 2020 Ballot Cycle

  • November 3, 2019 - FHIR IG Proposals Due
  • November 17, 2019 - NIB Deadline and FHIR IG Proposals Due http://www.hl7.org/special/committees/tsc/ballotmanagement/index.cfm
  • November 17, 2019 - FHIR IGs substantially complete
  • November 25, 2019 - Consensus Group (Ballot commenter) Sign-Up
  • November 29, 2019 - FHIR Ballot Core substantially complete
  • December 3, 2019 - FHIR Connectathon (For February WGM) due
  • December 4, 2019 - Harmonization Meeting
  • December 1, 2019 - Initial Content Due
  • December 8, 2019 - Ballot Resource Reconciliation Deadline
  • December 22, 2019 - Final Ballot Content Deadline
  • December 23, 2019 - Final Content Readiness Sign-off
  • December 26, 2019 - Consensus Group (Ballot Commenter) sign-up closes.
  • December 27, 2019 - January 27, 2020 - Ballot open for comments
  • February 2-3, 2020 - FHIR Connectathon (Sydney, Australia)

Approvals for May 2020 Ballot Cycle

  • October 4, 2019 - PSS deadline
  • January 5, 2020 - TSC approval for all PSS for May 2020 Ballot Cycle (requires approval by sponsors, co-sponsors, Steering Division, and Management Group, and other groups such as Architectural Review Board if indicated)
Yan reviewed upcoming timeline milestones.

1 Comment

  1. Not clear that TSC Approved DEQM PSS update to add gaps in care.  Perhaps should be CSD approved.